We would like to thank you

Thanks to our customers and sales partners all over the world,

who have been placing their trust in us for many years. Thanks to those who, with their team spirit, their service and their suggestions, ensure that our products are used daily to the satisfaction of the users. Thanks to everyone who has been with us for 35 years in over 100 countries worldwide.

Thanks to all our team members,

some of whom have been working for PROTEC for more than 20 years and contribute to our success with their dedication, their personality, their zeal, their ideas and especially with their cordiality. We are proud of our entire team!

Thank you for 35 years,

of exciting and challenging work that has transformed the company from a former manufacturer of X-ray film processors to a renowned software and hardware developer and manufacturer of advanced digital X-ray solutions.

Milestones of the PROTEC History

Founded in 1984, PROTEC has developed impressively in the last 35 years. From a small production facility with two employees, PROTEC has become a nationally and internationally known manufacturer of complete digital X-ray systems with 60 employees worldwide. The company’s headquarters are located in the beautiful Bottwartal, a part north of Stuttgart. Here in Oberstenfeld, innovative complete X-ray solutions are designed, manufactured and exported all over the world with our own design, production and software development. In the timeline we have summarized the milestones of our 35-year company history. For 35 years PROTEC has been synonymous with the highest quality, reliability and first-class service in the field of X-ray technology. In the following timeline we have summarized the milestones of our 35-year company history for you.

1984 – Foundation 1984 – Foundation
1994 – OPTIMAX 1994 – OPTIMAX
1996 – Erhard Fichtner 1996 – Erhard Fichtner
2001 – Digital Imaging 2001 – Digital Imaging
2003 – PROSCAN 2003 – PROSCAN
2006 – Software Development 2006 – Software Development
2009 – PROVOTEC take over 2009 – PROVOTEC take over
2010 – PEDS 600 2010 – PEDS 600
2013 – Touch Concept 2013 – Touch Concept
2014 – PROSLIDE 2014 – PROSLIDE
2016 – US/CT/MRT Interface 2016 – US/CT/MRT Interface
2017 – PRS 500 B 2017 – PRS 500 B
2018 – Shanghai 2018 – Shanghai
2019 – PRS 500 F/E/X 2019 – PRS 500 F/E/X

1984 – Foundation

Mathias Müller and Gerhard Schmidtchen founded PROTEC. The high ambition of the founders: to create a processing machine for X-ray images that is uncompromisingly designed for quality, technical innovation and high performance. In addition, the machine should be interesting for the fields of medicine, device construction and NDT.

1994 – OPTIMAX

There is almost no PROTEC customer who does not know the name OPTIMAX. With the market launch of this intuitively operable, fast, reliable and space-saving automatic film processor PROTEC achieved international success. Only 2 years after the OPTIMAX, the equally successful COMPACT 2 followed, which together with the OPTIMAX and OPTIMAX2010 still represents the processing machine portfolio today.

 

1996 – Erhard Fichtner

In 1996 Erhard Fichtner took over the company as a visionary managing director. Together with him, PROTEC is especially intensifying the development of international business and OEM business. He also started to build the base for the subsequent development of digital complete X-ray solutions. The success proves his concept to be right – today PROTEC with a large portfolio and innovative products is better positioned for the future than ever.

2001 – Digital Imaging

With the foundation of the subsidiary PROTEC medical information systems (MIS), the field of digital X-ray started to gain importance at PROTEC. One reason for the foundation of a digital X-ray section was the now continuous global development away from analogue X-ray developing machines towards fully digital X-ray image reading systems. The first digital product was a CR scanner combined with a device for digitizing existing X-ray images.

 

 

 

2003 – PROSCAN

The PROSCAN 30, which was presented at the ECR 2003 in Vienna as a new semi-automatic CR system in the PROTEC product portfolio, saved customers time and consumables. The PROSCAN 30 is called a bridge from conventional to digital X-ray, as it is in some way different from the fully automatic CR systems and offers the customer the best possibility to switch from a conventional, analogue system to a digital system.

2006 – Software Development

On 31.08.2006 the company’s own image acquisition software CONAXX was released. Due to the cooperation with a university and university, PROTEC also became known among the students and PROTEC MIS won new employees for the software engineering team, who found their future job here after their graduation. Today, software development is an important part of the PROTEC department landscape.

2009 – PROVOTEC take over

In 2009, the takeover of the PROVOTEC GmbH in Espelkamp set the course for the future of PROTEC. From now on, the sale and further development of the PROVOTEC products in the PROTEC portfolio followed. After PROTEC had moved to a new location in 2009, PROVOTEC was relocated and finally integrated into the Oberstenfeld facility in July 2010.

 

2010 – PEDS 600

As the first own digital X-ray system of the PROTEC portfolio, the PEDS 600 was the spearhead of a successful series. Both X-ray source and image receiver are integrated in the swivel bracket of the system. This has a positive effect on the already low space requirement. Also included in the product are a digital exposure automaton and the organ automaton.

 

2013 – Touch Concept

The market launch of the PROTEC TOUCH concept combines a new, intuitive operating concept with a modern design. As a high-end solution in combination with CONAXX as operating software, new standards in user-friendliness could be set. Also in the new PRS 500 system, the touch concept will have an important role in the control of the X-ray system.

 

2014 – PROSLIDE

The first version of PROSLIDE is introduced to the market. Consistently the completion of the product portfolio is advanced by this. At that time PROSLIDE was only available digitally – this led to the relaunch of the system in 2017. From now on two different systems are available: Proslide 32B and 32SR. The motorized B-version with integrated battery allows the user to benefit from unlimited mobility. The SR version is the entry-level model and has great application flexibility. Both new PROSLIDES are now available for use as DR, CR or analogue systems.

 

2016 – US/CT/MRT Interface

With the expansion of our software interfaces to include ultrasound, CT and MRT, our software solutions developed in-house become even more attractive for you. You now have the possibility to view and diagnose images and video sequences from the mentioned areas via PROPAXX.

 

2017 – PRS 500 B

As the biggest milestone in PROTEC’s recent history, the launch of the PRS 500 B marks an important step for the future. For the first time PROTEC offers a motorized X-ray system with auto-tracking functions. Thus the system serves you as an inexpensive alternative to cost-intensive ceiling systems. In addition, the system’s tracking function provides a particularly high degree of comfort for the user and patient. Another high highlight is the available auto stitching which allows you to shoot long leg exposures in three bucky positions directly in series. The result: a big time advantage for the user and a significantly shorter strain on the patient.

 

2018 – Shanghai

PROTEC’s China business has tradition: Since 1992 PROTEC is active in the Chinese market. Just recently another milestone was reached: the company moved to a new building and new rooms with modern design and infrastructure. The 7-headed team of PROTEC Shanghai are now perfectly equipped for taking care about the Chinese marked with their new facility. But there is even more to it than that: Since May 2018, a local production site in Shanghai has been established, serving with its own customer solutions for the Chinese market.

 

 

2019 – PRS 500 F/E/X

The PRS 500 still has its origins in the PROVOTEC halls. It is the backbone of our product portfolio – flexible configurable exactly to your individual requirements. Completely redesigned, equipped with many new features and with an intuitive operating concept, we have continued to develop the PRS 500 consequently. The market launch will take place in May 2019 in a new modern design – we look forward to your feedback on the system!

 

Our employees about PROTEC

“I started on 1st January 1985 as the third and youngest employee at PROTEC, meanwhile I belong to the probably most experienced - in any case to the oldest (laughs).
It is exciting and makes me proud to be part of the team that has shaped the development of the company to this day.”

Michael Piecha34 years employee, Technical Service

“For me it is exciting to see how PROTEC has developed. We formerly assembled developing machines, today we have complex X-ray systems. With my work, I enjoy ensuring that customers all over the world can install our systems without any problems.”

Andreas Fink27 years employee, Production Line

“My work at PROTEC is very diverse, trade fairs, the website, new brochures etc. I do not get bored (laughs). I particularly like that I can bring my private PC/Internet affinity into my work. So it is a lot of fun for me to design the external presentation of the company.”

Marvin Karger5 years employee, Marketing

“The family-like atmosphere in the company made it very easy for me to get started. The combination of tradition and innovation can really be felt here - it's great to be part of a company with so much history. Right after I started, I became part of the product film for the new PRS 500 series, the shooting was entertaining and a lot of fun.”

Fabian Knödler1 year employee, Purchasing Department

“I already got to know PROTEC at the secondary school through a educational fair. I was surprised that a local company in my neighboring town has such international customers. The varied work and insights into different business areas help me to understand the theory from my studies in practice.”

Zarah Krebs1 year Student, BWL International Business

Wir Sagen Danke!

Danke an unsere Kunden und Vertriebspartner in aller Welt,

die uns seit vielen Jahren das Vertrauen schenken. Danke denjenigen, die mit Ihrem Teamgeist, Ihrem Service und Ihren Anregungen täglich dafür sorgen, dass unsere Produkte zur Zufriedenheit der Anwender eingesetzt werden. Danke an alle, die seit 35 Jahren in über 100 Ländern weltweit, zu uns stehen.

Danke an alle unsere Mitarbeiter,

von denen einige bereits von Beginn an, viele mehr als 20 Jahre bei PROTEC arbeiten und mit Ihrem Einsatz, Ihrer Persönlichkeit, Ihrem Eifer, Ihren Ideen und besonders mit Ihrer Herzlichkeit zum Erfolg beitragen.

Wir sind stolz auf unser Team!

Danke für 35 Jahre,

die spannend und herausfordernd waren, die das Unternehmen vom einstigen Röntgen-Film-Entwicklungsmaschinen-Hersteller zum renommierten Soft- und Hardware-Haus und Hersteller von modernen, digitalen Röntgenlösungen werden ließ.

Die Meilensteine der PROTEC Geschichte

Gegründet 1984, hat sich PROTEC in den letzten 35 Jahren beeindruckend entwickelt. Aus einer kleinen Fertigung mit zwei Angestellten wurde ein national wie international bekannter Hersteller von digitalen Röntgenkomplettsystemen mit weltweit 60 tätigen Mitarbeitern. Der Firmenhauptsitz liegt im malerischen Bottwartal ein Stück nördlich von Stuttgart. Hier in Oberstenfeld werden mit einer eigenen Konstruktion, Produktion und Softwareentwicklung innovative Röntgenkomplettlösungen konzipiert, hergestellt und in die ganze Welt exportiert. Seit 35 Jahren steht PROTEC für höchste Qualität, Verlässlichkeit und erstklassigen Service im Bereich Röntgentechnik!

Im Zeitstrahl haben wir Ihnen die Meilensteine unserer 35-jährigen Firmengeschichte zusammengefasst:

1984 – Firmengründung 1984 – Firmengründung
1994 – OPTIMAX 1994 – OPTIMAX
1996 – Erhard Fichtner 1996 – Erhard Fichtner
2001 – digitales Röntgen 2001 – digitales Röntgen
2003 – PROSCAN 2003 – PROSCAN
2006 – Softwareentwicklung 2006 – Softwareentwicklung
2009 – Übernahme Provotec 2009 – Übernahme Provotec
2010 – PEDS 600 2010 – PEDS 600
2013 – Touch Konzept 2013 – Touch Konzept
2014 – PROSLIDE 2014 – PROSLIDE
2016 – US/CT/MRT Schnittstelle 2016 – US/CT/MRT Schnittstelle
2017 – PRS 500 B 2017 – PRS 500 B
2018 – Shanghai 2018 – Shanghai
2019 – PRS 500 F/E/X 2019 – PRS 500 F/E/X

1984 – Firmengründung

Mathias Müller und Gerhard Schmidtchen Gründen PROTEC. Das hohe Ziel der Gründer: eine Entwicklungsmaschine für Röntgenbilder schaffen, die kompromisslos auf Qualität, technische Innovation und hohe Leistung ausgelegt ist. Außerdem sollte die Maschine für die Bereiche Medizin, Gerätebau und NDT interessant sein.

1994 – OPTIMAX

Es gibt kaum einen PROTEC Kunden dem der Name OPTIMAX kein Begriff ist. Mit der Markteinführung dieser intuitiv bedienbaren, schnellen, zuverlässigen und platzsparenden automatischen Filmentwicklungsmaschine gelangte PROTEC zu internationaler Anerkennung. Bereits 2 Jahre nach der OPTIMAX folgte die ebenso erfolgreiche COMPACT 2, die zusammen mit der OPTIMAX und OPTIMAX2010 bis heute das Entwicklungsmaschinenportfolio abbildet.

 

1996 – Erhard Fichtner

Als Geschäftsführer mit Visonen übernahm Erhard Fichtner 1996 die Geschicke der Firma. Unter seiner Leitung forciert PROTEC besonders den Ausbau des internationalen Handels und OEM-Geschäfts. Bereits damals werden durch Ihn die Grundsteine für die spätere Entwicklung von digitalen Röntgenkomplettlösungen gelegt. Der Erfolg gibt seinem Konzept Recht – heute ist PROTEC mit einem großen Portfolio von innovativen Produkten besser denn je für die Zukunft aufgestellt.

2001 – digitales Röntgen

Mit der Gründung der Tochterfirma PROTEC medical information systems (MIS) startete PROTEC den Bereich digitales Röntgen. Der Grund hierfür war die globale Entwicklung weg von analogen Röntgenfilmentwicklungsmaschinen, hin zu voll digitalen Röntgensystemen. Ein CR Scanner in Verbindung mit einem Gerät zur Digitalisierung bereits vorhandener Röntgenbilder war das erste digitale Produkt.

 

 

 

2003 – PROSCAN

Der PROSCAN 30, vorgestellt auf dem ECR 2003 in Wien, erweitert das Produktportfolio als neues halbautomatisches CR-System und spart den Kunden somit Zeit und Verbrauchsmaterialien. Der PROSCAN 30 stellt die Brücke zwsichen konventionellem zu digitalem Röntgen dar. Bietet er den Kunden die beste Möglichkeit, um von einem konventionellen, analogen System auf ein digitales System umzustellen.

2006 – Softwareentwicklung

Am 31.08.2006 launcht PROTEC die firmeneigene Bildakquisitions-Software CONAXX. Eine Kooperation mit der Hochschule Heilbronn und der Universität Heidelberg öffnet den Studenten die Tür zum späteren Arbeitgeber. Heute ist die Softwareentwicklung fester Bestandteil der PROTEC Abteilungslandschaft.

2009 – Übernahme Provotec

2009 wurden mit der Übernahme der PROVOTEC GmbH Espelkamp die Weichen für PROTECs Zukunft gestellt. Seit diesem Zeitpunkt produziert, optimiert und entwickelt PROTEC das Produktportfolio der Röntgenkomplettlösungen. Die neuen Aktivitäten und die endgültige Eingliederung von PROVOTEC machten einen Standortwechsel 2010 notwendig.

 

2010 – PEDS 600

Als erstes eigenes digitales Röntgensystem des PROTEC Portfolios, bildet das PEDS 600 die Speerspitze einer erfolgreichen Serie. Der Schwenkbügel des Systems beinhaltet sowohl den Röntgenstrahler als auch den Bildempfänger was sich positiv auf den ohnehin schon geringen Platzbedarf auswirkt. Ein digitaler Belichtungsautomat und die Organautomatik gehören zum festen Lieferumfang.

 

2013 – Touch Konzept

Die Markteinführung des PROTEC TOUCH Konzeptes vereint ein neues, intuitives Bedienkonzept mit einem modernen Design. Als High-End Lösung setzt die Verbindung aus CONAXX als Bediensoftware und einem Touchmonitor neue Mastäbe. Im neuen PRS 500 System spielt das Touch Konzept ebenfalls eine bedeutende Rolle für die Steuerung des Röntgensystems und Generators.

 

2014 – PROSLIDE

PROSLIDE als mobile Lösung wird in den Markt eingeführt und komplettiert somit konsequent das Produktportfolio. In der ersten Version ist der PROSLIDE ausschließlich digital verfügbar was 2017 zur Überarbeitung des Systems führt. Seitdem sind zwei Versionen analog und digital verfügbar, der Proslide 32B und 32SR. Die motorisierte B-Version mit intrigiertem Akku, offeriert dem Anwender netzunabhängig eine uneingeschränkte Mobilität. Die SR Version ist das Basismodell und bietet eine große Anwendungsflexibilität.

 

2016 – US/CT/MRT Schnittstelle

Mit der Erweiterung unserer Softwareschnittstellen um Ultraschall, CT und MRT werden unsere Softwarelösungen noch attraktiver. Sie bieten nun die die Möglichkeit per PROPAXX Bilder-und Videoseqenzen aus den genannten Bereichen zu Sichten und zu Befunden.

 

2017 – PRS 500 B

Als größter Meilenstein der jüngeren PROTEC Geschichte markiert die Markteinführung des PRS 500 B eine wichtige Weichenstellung für die Zukunft. Erstmals bietet PROTEC ein motorisiertes Röntgensystem mit Autotracking Funktionen an. Damit ist das System eine günstige Alternative zu kostenintensiven Deckenstativen. Anwender und Patienten werden durch die Nachlaufsteuerung des Systems signifikant entlastet. Ein weiteres High-Light ist das verfügbare Auto-Stitching, dass Ihnen Langbein-Aufnahmen in drei Buckypositionen direkt hintereinander erlaubt. Das Resultat – eine große Zeitersparnis für den Anwender und eine deutlich kürzere Belastung für den Patienten.

 

2018 – Shanghai

Bereits seit 1992 ist PROTEC auf dem chinesischen Markt aktiv.
2018 wurde ein weiterer Meilenstein erreicht: der Umzug in komplett neue Räumlichkeiten mit modernster Infrastruktur Ausstattung. Damit ist das lokale 7-köpfige Team der PROTEC Shanghai bestens für die Betreuung seiner Kunden gerüstet. Aber nicht nur das: seit Mai 2018 existiert in Shanghai auch ein PROTEC Produktionsstandort, welcher zukünftig vermehrt eigene Lösungen für seine Kunden forcieren wird. Gleichzeitig stellt er im internationalen Kontext für die PROTEC Unternehmensgruppe eine wichtige Schnittstelle und Zugang zu weiteren Ressourcen im internationalen Beschaffungs- und Produktionsprozess dar.

 

2019 – PRS 500 F/E/X

Die Ursprünge hat das PRS 500 in den Hallen von PROVOTEC und bildet bis heute das Rückgrat unseres Produktportfolios – vielseitig und individuell auf Ihre Bedürfnisse konfigurierbar. Der heutigen Zeit angepasst und ausgestattet mit vielen neuen Featuren, wie zum Beispiel einem intuitiven Bedienkonzept, besticht das PRS 500 mit neuem, modernem Design. Die Markteinführung erfolgt im Mai 2019.

 

Unsere Mitarbeiter über Ihre Zeit bei PROTEC

“Begonnen habe ich am 01. Januar 1985 als damals dritter und jüngster Mitarbeiter bei PROTEC, inzwischen gehöre ich zu den warscheinlich Erfahrensten - auf jeden Fall zu den Ältesten (lacht).
Es ist spannend und macht mich stolz ein Teil des Teams zu sein, dass die Entwicklung der Firma bis heute prägt.”

Michael PiechaSeit 34 Jahren im Unternehmen, Technischer Service

“Für mich ist es spannend zu sehen wie sich PROTEC entwickelt hat. Früher haben wir Entwicklungsmaschinen montiert, heute sind es komplexe Röntgenanlagen. Mit meiner Arbeit dafür zu sorgen das Kunden in der ganzen Welt eine problemlose Installation unserer Systeme durchführen können macht mir Spaß.”

Andreas FinkSeit 27 Jahren im Unternehmen, Montage und Endprüfung

“Meine Arbeit bei PROTEC ist sehr facettenreich, Messen, die Website, neue Prospekte, etc. - langweilig wird es nie. Besonders gut gefällt mir das ich meine private Internet-Affinität in die Arbeit einbringen kann. So macht es mir viel Spaß die Aussendarstellung der Firma zu gestalten. PROTEC ist für mich ein Unternehmen mit Zukunft. ”

Marvin KargerSeit 5 Jahren im Unternehmen, Markteing

“Das familiäre Miteinander in der Firma machte mir den Einstieg sehr leicht. Das Zusammenspiel von Tradition und Innovation ist hier wirklich spürbar - es ist toll Teil einer Firma mit so viel Geschichte zu sein. Direkt nachdem ich gestartet bin, wurde ich Teil des Produktfilms zur neuen PRS 500 Serie, der Dreh war abwechslungsreich und hat Spaß gemacht. ”

Fabian KnödlerSeit 1 Jahr im Unternehmen, Einkauf

“Ich habe PROTEC bereits auf dem Gymnasium über eine Ausbildungsmesse kennen gelernt. Ich war überrascht das eine lokale Firma in meinem Nachbarort so internationale Kunden hat. Die vielseitige Arbeit und Einblicke in unterschiedliche Unternehmensbereiche helfen mir die Theorie aus dem Studium in der Praxis zu verstehen. ”

Zarah KrebsSeit 1 Jahr, International Business Studentin